More Of Him, Less Of Me

“But He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.” (2 Corinthians 12:9)

This verse always kinda stumped me. I would read it and go “okay” and move on to the next verse. But this past week, especially the start of the week, was a tough one for me. Without going into details, everything seemed to be going wrong all at the same time and I felt absolutely powerless. Part of me wanted to panic because what I knew needed to happen just didn’t seem possible, and the other part of me knew that God has already taken care of it, I just have to trust and follow Him. That’s when God reminded me of this verse, and it all made sense to me.

I find it ironic, coincidental, or God’s plan that I’ve been reading various things regarding emptying myself of MY wants, desires, and dreams for my life and replacing them with HIS wants, desires, and dreams for my life. “He must become greater; I must become less.” (John 3:30) And really, He knows better than I do what is best for me, and I do believe that He wants the absolute best for me. It may not be what I have dreamt up for myself, but it will be so much better.

Paul in the New Testament was no stranger to hardships. In fact, it seems he was surrounded by them, inside and out. But yet he believed Jesus’ words to him that His power is perfected in our weakness and Paul said “That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” (2 Corinthians 12:10)

At the beginning of last week I felt depleted. Empty. I felt like I had nothing left and that things were never going to improve for me, no matter how hard I worked to change it. That is a very frustrating, lonely, weak place to be. But then I looked up. And I remembered that God is so much bigger, and then He filled me. I believe that Christ’s power is made perfect in our weaknesses because in our weaknesses, hardships, and difficulties we often feel empty and broken and that empties us of ourselves and our own power, which makes more room for Christ and HIS power. I believe that sometimes God wants us to go through the hard things, the impossible things, so that He can show us just how amazing He is and that He is always working for our good because He is good.

…as servants of God, we commend ourselves in every way; in great endurance; in troubles, hardships and distresses; in beatings, imprisonments and riots; in hard work, sleepless nights and hunger; in purity, understanding, patience and kindness; in the Holy Spirit and in sincere love. In truthful speech and in the power of God; with weapons of righteousness in the right hand and in the left; through glory and dishonor, bad report and good report; genuine, yet regarded as impostors; known, yet regarded as unknown; dying, and yet we live on; beaten and yet not killed; sorrowful,, yet always rejoicing; poor, yet making many rich; having nothing, and yet possessing everything.” (2 Corinthians 6:4-10)

My week ended a lot better than it began, because I let God fill all the broken, empty, hopeless places with His love, provision, hope, and peace. When we seek Him, we will find Him, or rather, He found me. He found me and reminded me of who He is and what He is capable of and just how big He is. He is so big and so great and so much more amazing and wonderful than I could ever imagine and He loves me, little ol’ me, and in Him I have everything. Praise the Lord!

 

Leave a comment